Public Talks

Join Hugh as he walks you through his journey and tells stories of the incredible people who have inspired him and The Resilience Project to spread happiness.

What to expect

Our flagship Public Talks give Hugh van Cuylenburg, founder of The Resilience Project, the chance to unpack the research on mental health and break it down into simple tips that will leave you feeling empowered to improve your wellbeing.

A best selling author and co-host of popular podcast, the imperfects, Hugh has partnered with elite sports teams, 1000+ schools and 500+ workplaces teaching simple and practical mental health strategies.

Adults, parents, professionals, teenagers; these talks are for you. Well, really, it’s for anyone who wants to share a laugh and pick up some wellbeing tips along the way.

Please ensure you only buy tickets from our authorised ticketing agents which are linked directly below. Any ticket purchases through third party resellers may be invalid.

Event updates

On this page, you’ll find the most up-to-date information available for our 2022 Public Talks.

For existing ticketholders from rescheduled 2021 shows, any news of a cancellation/reschedule would have been communicated via email from the ticketing agent. If you have not received any correspondence, be sure to get in touch with the event venue.

2022 Public Talks

Remaining Shows:

Adelaide

Date: Friday 26 August 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

AEC Theatre

Auckland

Old dates: 27 May 2022, 4 July, 12 August & 23 September 2021

New date: Friday 4 November 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

Bruce Mason Centre

Auckland

Old dates: 28 May 2022, 2 July, 13 August & 24 September 2021

New date: Saturday 5 November 2022 

7.00pm – 9.00pm

Bruce Mason Centre

Canberra

Date: Sunday 21 August 2022 

7.00pm – 9.00pm

Canberra Theatre

Christchurch

Old date: Saturday 21 May 2022

New date: Wednesday 2 November 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

James Hay Theatre

Dunedin

Old date: Friday 20 May 2022

New date: Tuesday 1 November 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

Glenroy Auditorium

Perth

Date: Friday 2 September 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

Riverside Theatre

Perth

Old date: Wednesday 17 November 2021

New date: Saturday 3 September 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

Astor Theatre, Mt Lawley

Sydney

Date: Saturday 10 September 2022

8.30pm – 10.30pm

Sydney Opera House

Completed Shows:

Ballarat

Old dates: 8 June, 26 July, 31 August & 3 October 2021

New date: Tuesday 29 March 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

Wendouree Performing Arts Centre

Ballarat

Old date: Friday 1 October 2021

New date: Wednesday 30 March 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

Wendouree Performing Arts Centre

Bendigo

Old dates: 21 June, 20 September & 15 November 2021

New date: Tuesday 15 March   2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

Ulumbarra Theatre

Bendigo

Old dates: 20 June, 19 September & 16 November 2021

New date: Wednesday 16 March 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

Ulumbarra Theatre

Brisbane

 Old date: Sunday 10 October 2021

New date: Sunday 13 March 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre

Brisbane

Date: Saturday 12 March 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre

Darwin

Date: Saturday 7 May 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

DEC Playhouse

Geelong

Old date: Saturday 2 October 2021

New date: Thursday 10 March 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

Costa Hall at Deakin University

Gold Coast

Old date: Saturday 9 October 2021

New date: Monday 16 May 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

HOTA Home of the Arts

Hobart

Date: Monday 4 April 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

Theatre Royal

Launceston

Date: Thursday 14 April 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

Theatre North at the Princess

Melbourne

Date: Friday 8 April 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

Hamer Hall

Newcastle

Date: Friday 3 June 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

Civic Theatre

Shepparton

Old dates: 22 June, 23 June and 17 September & 18 December 2021

New date: Tuesday 12 April 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

Riverlinks Eastbank

Shepparton

Old dates: 22 June, 23 June and 17 September & 18 December 2021

New date: Monday 11 April 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

Riverlinks Eastbank

Wollongong

Date: Thursday 2 June 2022

7.00pm – 9.00pm

Anita’s Theatre